Spread the love

No-fault insurance basically means that the victims of car accidents cannot file a complaint or open a lawsuit against the at-fault driver, unless certain criteria or thresholds are met. This ultimately means that they cannot get compensation for medical bills or any other damages or losses from the at-fault driver. They would instead need to claim for these damages from their own insurance company. Another point to note is that the no-fault insurance will not cover damage done to the victim’s car.

In Utah, regardless of who was at fault when the accident occurred, insurance companies are required by law to pay a minimum of $3,000 toward the victim. This money should be paid out in the form of personal injury protection (PIP). If it is a minor accident, this is usually the end of the process.

For example, if another motorist drives into your taillight and you sustain minor injuries, your insurance company will pay out for your medical bills, and that is basically it. However, if more severe damage is involved, you are allowed to take legal action against the other motorist. So if the victim sustained serious injuries or the medical bills exceed $3,000, a personal injury lawsuit can be filed. Serious injury is referred to as permanent impairment, permanent disability, permanent disfigurement, or dismemberment.

In most cases, $3,000 is more than enough to cover medical injuries. However, in the event of severe cases, this may not be enough. In cases such as these, the victim may seek coverage from their own health insurance company or request assistance, whereby the medical care will be offered based on a lien against the potential personal injury reward the victim will receive.

Your insurance company will not pay you out for any medical bills unless you first open an insurance claim for personal injury protection. Additionally, you will need to submit weekly paperwork in order to be compensated for loss of wages and household services. Ultimately, the personal injury protection compensation is due irrespective of whether you were at fault or not.

Unfortunately, any type of damage to the victim’s vehicle is not covered under this type of policy. This means is that in the event that your car is extensively damaged, you will need to claim compensation from the at-fault driver’s insurance company or purchase a separate policy to cover vehicle damage.

If you are involved in an accident in Utah, you should consult with a professional and experienced car accident lawyer. The no-fault insurance in Utah law can prove to be quite complex and confusing for the average citizen, so you need to have the best legal representation on your side to simplify the process for you.

By doing this, you give yourself a great advantage in winning your case. If your medical injuries exceed the threshold, you may also be entitled to reimbursement from your health insurance provider or the at-fault party. Unless you know exactly what to do, how to do it, and when to do it, you may be at a great disadvantage. So ultimately, legal representation and knowing how to use the law to your advantage is imperative in ensuring that justice is done.

Find us on Google +